## Presidents of the Group from 1953 to today

The Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats was officially founded as a Socialist Group on 29 June 1953, which makes it the second oldest political group in the European Parliament. It adopted its present-day name on 23 June 2009

Number	President	State	National party	From	То
1.	Guy Mollet	France	French Section of the Workers' International (SFIO)	1953	1956
2.	Hendrik Fayat	Belgium	Belgian Socialist Party (PSB)	1956	1958
3.	Pierre Lapie	France	French Section of the Workers' International (SFIO)	1958	1959
4.	Willi Birkelbach	Germany	Social Democratic Party (SPD)	1959	1964
5.	Käte Strobel	Germany	Social Democratic Party (SPD)	1964	1967
6.	Francis Vals	France	French Section of the Workers' International (SFIO)	1967	1974
7.	Georges Spénale	France	Socialist Party (PS)	1974	1975
8.	Ludwig Fellermaier <sup>[39]</sup>	Germany	Social Democratic Party (SPD)	1975	1979
9.	Ernest Glinne	Belgium	Socialist Party (PS)	1979	1984

10.	Rudi Arndt	Germany	Social Democratic Party (SPD)	1984	1989
11.	Jean-Pierre Cot	France	Socialist Party (PS)	1989	1994
12.	Pauline Green	Standard United Kingdom	Labour Party	1994	1999
13.	Enrique Barón Crespo	Spain	Spanish Socialist Workers' Party (PSOE)	1999	2004
14.	Martin Schulz	Germany	Social Democratic Party (SPD)	2004	2012
15.	Hannes Swoboda	Austria	Social Democratic Party of Austria (SPÖ)	2012	2014
16.	Martin Schulz	Germany	Social Democratic Party (SPD)	2014 (May)	2014 (June)
17.	Gianni Pittella	Italy	Democratic Party (PD)	2014	2018
18.	Udo Bullmann	Germany	Social Democratic Party (SPD)	2018 (March)	2019
19.	Iratxe García	Spain	Spanish Socialist Workers' Party (PSOE)	2019	present